Today’s Serving/Bartending PSA

To the partial baseball team that couldn’t be bothered to leave me even a 10% tip today….even though you evidently didn’t deserve it, I’m glad  that I was able to keep your drinks full. I’m glad that I was able to split your check effortlessly and correctly. I’m glad I was kind enough to give you drinks to go and make sure that your order was perfect. And even though you couldn’t tip me in accordance with how well I took care of you, should I serve you again, I will strive to give you the same excellent service. Why? Because it’s my job, and I love my job. And for every one of you that tips poorly, there are dozens that tip me incredibly well, even if I’m having a rough day and my service may not be up to par.

Tip your servers well, people. They touch your partially eaten food when they clean up after you, they run around and sweat to make sure your dining experience is a good one. Oh yeah, and they only get paid $2.13 an hour……your tips are how they make money.

*steps down off of soapbox*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Serving/Bartending PSA

  1. Servetus says:

    Amen. This is something that makes me really angry when I see it happen. With the tipout system in most bars, waitstaff are paying money to serve people who tip badly.

Leave a Reply

