Overheard at a Wedding

I went to a wedding very recently, and as always, the wedding party speeches were terrific.  Funny, yet sentimental, with laughs and tears.  Today’s blog is a recap of one of the speeches I witnessed while eating my dinner and drinking my gin and tonic.  The names have been changed to protect in innocent (and not so innocent).

Hi, I’m Bill.  For those of you that don’t know, I’m the groom’s cousin.  I always looked up to Tom growing up.  He’s only a few years older than me and we spent a lot of time at Grandpa’s while growing up.  It was great to get to spend so much time with Grandpa and with Tom.  In fact I always considered him to almost be more of a brother than a cousin.

Well this one summer, I must have been about 14 or 15, we had been out doing something. I can’t remember what.  Grandpa had us doing everything, tennis, swimming, everything.  I got out of the truck and headed toward the backyard.  I had evidently left my Walkman in the truck.  I see by the snickers that at least a few of you remember what a Walkman is.  Well I’d gotten out of the truck and left it in the seat.  So yeah, Uncle Steve said “Bill, you forgot your Walkman.”  Then he yelled to my Aunt Pam. “Pam! Come here and get Bill’s Walkman.  And while you’re at it why don’t you have a listen to the tape he has in there.”

So Aunt Pam took the Walkman and went back into the house……..where she had just happened to be having a piano lesson.  She was taking piano lessons from Pastor Ted. She proceeded to take the tape out and put it into the cassette player in the piano room, and she and Pastor Ted listened to the entire thing from start to end.

In case anyone is wondering, the tape was by a group called the 2 Live Crew, and the album was As Nasty As They Wanna Be.  Needless to say, I got in a bit of trouble for that one.

Aunt Pam, all these years later, I just wanted to apologize to you for that. And I also wanted to tell you for the record, I didn’t buy that tape.  TOM bought it for me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

