I Am Officially (Half) Crazy

Well, I did it today….while sitting at my desk at work for the entire floor to see.  I didn’t even care if anyone saw what I was doing, but I will admit that doing it at my desk made me feel sick.  Just as sick with nerves as when I started to do it last night at home and stopped at the last minute.

I registered for my first ever half marathon today – the 2013 Waddell & Reed Kansas City (Half) Marathon.

That’s just crazy, right?  Well kind of….but I prefer to think of it as HALF crazy.  It is a half marathon after all – not a full one.  Now THAT is crazy.  I know quite a few people who run marathons (full marathons) or have at least done it once.  One woman told me that she basically went through every emotion possible during the 26.2 mile race.  She was in pain, angry, happy, sad, on the verge of tears – you name it, she felt it.  Two women from my church have run marathons in Kansas City, Chicago, Minneapolis, Las Vegas.  In fact when I mentioned once upon a time that I would love to try to run a half, Cori promptly told me that as soon as I did I would want to run a full marathon. I will reserve my final opinion on that until after my race in October, but at this point,  I think she’s crazy to think that.  Oh wait.  She is crazy.  She’s a marathon runner. 😉

I have never really liked running.  Ever.  I have always struggled with my weight and have never been a fan of exercise of any kind.  I played tennis in high school, but I really sucked (I prefer to watch).  I played rugby in college for like 10 seconds.  I was a prop which is usually played by someone big and burly. Sadly I fit the bill (the big part, but not necessarily the burly part), weighing in at about 215 lbs at my heaviest in college (in thanks partly to the fact that I dated the pizza delivery guy and ate lots of free pizza).   In high school part of the reason I joined Navy Junior ROTC was that it got me out of taking PE (but in the end, I loved the class and still wish I had gone into the military when I had the chance).

But now that I’m “older”, the weight that I want to lose must be fought with more than healthy eating.  Exercise has become a necessity.  And by some strange stroke of luck, one of my oldest and dearest friends, Ami, is a personal trainer and has kept me on this running journey.

I’ve been running on and off for the last 3 years.  It started with the Couch to 5k plan, which I did twice (if you are interested in running, it really does work – you can find more information here and here and some podcasts that give you the running/walking prompts here) and that enabled me to participate in numerous 5ks (even though I’ve only actually run 4 of them without walking).  Now I’ve morphed into this “half crazy” person that is seriously considering running 13.1 miles at one time. I think I’m just trying to prove to myself that I can do it (and I really want that 13.1 sticker for my car – priorities). RUNNING-1

Just this last Sunday, Ami and I ran 6 miles (just under 10k).  That’s the longest I’ve ever run without walking, and it took about an hour and 15 minutes to do (ahem…actor Tom Hiddleston can run that in about 45 minutes and Olympian Mo Farah can run a 10k in 26 minutes) .  At the beginning of the year I could run 15-20 minutes at a time. And each time we accomplish a distance I thought for sure would be near impossible, it gives me more confidence in the fact that I can do this. After all, 6 miles is almost half of a half.  So currently am I only a quarter crazy….right?

I always wanted to use this blog as a way of keeping myself accountable when it came to weight loss and exercise goals, interspersed with some fun and pretty things along the way.  So I will blog from time to time about my training and certainly post some lovely sweaty pictures of myself as my running distance increases.  It seems to be the trend on Facebook where Ami has posted pics after our 5 and 6 mile runs.  I hope to not bore you all, and look forward to posting a picture of me at the finish line of my half marathon with a huge smile on my face!

Me giving thumbs up after the KC Chiefs 5K Run May 2013

Me giving thumbs up after the KC Chiefs 5K Run May 2013

This entry was posted in Day to Day, Running, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am Officially (Half) Crazy

  1. Carolyn says:

    Good for you! That must have felt SO exciting! Thank you for sharing your journey so far. I felt the way you did when I did my first 5K. A half marathon is definitely a long way away for me! I’m just starting to train for a 10K in September now. Best of luck! And good for you. 🙂

    • triski says:

      Thank you! It is very exciting, yet at the same time terrifying. The plan was to run a 10k first, but that seems to have been bypassed! hehe

Leave a Reply

