Cancer is a Witch with a B (no offense to my Wiccan friends)

I have come to realize, yet again, just what a real bitch cancer is.  I was made aware tonight that a “friend” on twitter had passed away recently from the evil scourge.  I never met her in person, but from the bits of interaction I had with her, she was a wonderful person.  Though she lived on the opposite side of the world from me, we had one big thing in common – Kansas City Chiefs football! Yes, the Chiefs were “her” team.

She told me once about how in years past her family would record Monday Night Football (although it was more like Tuesday Afternoon Football for them ) and then get together with another couple and watch it.  Strangely enough, while her team was the Chiefs, the others’ favorite teams consisted of the Oakland Raiders and San Diego Chargers….big time Chiefs divisional rivals!

Unfortunately in this day and age, everyone is touched by cancer in someway.  I have many friends, acquaintances and family members that have been lucky enough to beat it…some with breast cancer, some with skin cancer, or uterine cancer, etc.  And I have had family members and friends that have succumbed to the Big C as well.  I know that one day a cure will be found.  Until that day comes, we must continue to join together and fight.

Our local Susan G Komen Race for the Cure 5k is scheduled each year in August.  I have run it twice.  And let me tell you, a hilly route, in the middle of August in Kansas CIty when it’s hot and humid is not necessarily a fun 5k to run (especially when you are not a strong hill runner which I most definitely am not).  However, it was an incredible race both times I ran it.  With 30,000 plus runners/walkers, it’s an impressive sight.

Race for the Cure 2011 2

Race for the Cure - Kansas City Aug 2011

Race for the Cure – Kansas City Aug 2011

The last time I ran it I was privileged to do so with a friend of mine who is a breast cancer survivor and her 19-year-old daughter.  There wasn’t anything more moving for me on that day than to see mother and daughter run across that finish line holding hands.

Mother Michele & Daugher Nicole holding hands with the finish line in sight

Mother Michele & Daughter Nicole holding hands with the finish line in sight

I have decided that I will run this race again this year even though I hadn’t initially planned to do so.  I am going to do it in memory of my Twitter/Chiefs friend in hopes of finding a cure to prevent these senseless and painful losses. How nice would it be to see more pictures like the one directly above?  I for one would love to see it.

This entry was posted in Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cancer is a Witch with a B (no offense to my Wiccan friends)

  1. Janine says:

    God bless, sweet girl. XO

  2. You go girl!!! That cant be an easy run!
    I will miss her, we didn’t tweet often but funny how the last few days I was thinking of her! My prayers go to her family

  3. mersguy says:

    She was a gem, funny, very sweet and a lover of a good drop of Marlborough Sav/Blanc!
    I’ll will be cracking open my last bottle tonight from my trip to NZ to remember our darling Anna ♥

  4. april73 says:

    I’m sorry to hear about this very sad news… 😦

    I didn’t know her very much, but she will miss us.

    RIP Anna Paton…

  5. Harrison says:

    Thiss is tthe right web site foor everyone whoo would like tto
    understand thiks topic. You knoww a whole lott its almost hard
    to afgue wijth you (not that I acthally will nered to…HaHa).
    You definitepy pput a fresh spin oon a opic which has
    een discussed for ages. Wonderfgul stuff, just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

