30 Day Richard Armitage Challenge Day 2

The role which made you fall for him.

I had to really think about this one.  While North & South made me realize that not only was the man an incredible actor, he was also a very handsome one, I wouldn’t say it made me “fall for him”.  If anything, it only made me want to see some of his other work, of which there is still much to be discovered on my part.

What did it for me was his portrayal of John Standring in Sparkhouse.  I have only seen the version that is floating out there on the internet (I really need to get an all region DVD player so I’m not limited to American DVDs).  There is something about a vulnerable male that appeals to some women.  For instance, to me an injured John Porter is incredibly sexy.  The fact that this big, strong, man would need help from say, me, is hot.   And in that same respect, the socially awkward, innocent, sweet John Standring is the role pushed me over the edge.  Yeah the hair was bad, but he cleaned up ok.

John Standring – Sparkhouse Source: richardarmitagecentral.co.uk

Strong and manly when working on the farm or defending himself in a fight, yet so shy and uncomfortable when in social situations with Carole.  All he wants is for the object of his affection to feel for him what he feels for her.  And if it were me, I know I certainly would have picked him over whiny Andrew in a heartbeat.  So that’s it.  John Standring.  Hands down.  *thud*

RIchard Armitage as John Standring in Sparkhouse. Source: richardarmitagecentral.co.uk

This entry was posted in 30 Day Richard Armitage Challenge, Richard Armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 30 Day Richard Armitage Challenge Day 2

  1. april73 says:

    Having a very good experience with this actor when watching him for the first time in “North and South”, I wanted to see other series or movies with him. A friend, who is also fan of him, advise me to watch “Robin Hood” and a few other series.

    So, I went on Amazon to order the first 2 seasons of “Robin Hood” not only because Richard was playing in, but also because I like the legend.

    OMG OMG OMG… This was quite a shock… a very nice, good shock. The first time I saw Richard as Sir Guy of Gisborne in the first episode, I said to myself “What is that ???”. Translation : “OMG OMG OMG, he is too sexy in black leather. And this is the bad guy that we are not supposed to like ??? Not possible.”, lol lol lol. I have nothing against Jonas Armstrong and the others, but they don’t have the charisma of Richard or even Keith (the Sheriff is my favourite character in the serie).

    I like this character very much because he’s not only the “bad guy” of the story, he can also be kind, gentle and show compassion. 🙂

    • triski says:

      Agreed. IMO Guy was the best part of that show. I love the fact that he was “bad” but had this boy inside that needed love so badly. He just didn’t receive enough love growing up and was so starved for it!

      I wasn’t thrilled with how S2 ended and wasn’t a huge fan of S3 at first, but I think that Richard had some great acting opportunities in S3 and I really grew to love Guy even more (if that is even possible)

  2. Beverly says:

    Yes. John Standring. There are moments in that show that are overwhelming. The painful awkwardness and the purity of his love for Carol just makes me melt.

  3. ItsJSforMe says:

    *Sigh* He stole my heart. Just love John Standring. Strong, manly, and pure of heart. That’s why Its♥JS♥forMe 😉

  4. Sarah Smith says:

    Just started reading your blog today, love all the Armitage Awesomeness! Well, I haven’t watched very many of his works and reading through this has made me realize how inept I am at being a RA fan. The first thing I saw him in was Robin Hood via Netflix and the second was North and South also via Netflix. The role that really made me fall for him though was Thorin. I loved him in the other pieces I’ve watched, but the broody, rough dwarf really got me lol

    • triski says:

      Hi! I wouldn’t say inept! There is still plenty of his older work out there that I haven’t seen yet. I’m slowly wading my way through. It seems that most of his have either discovered him through Robin Hood or North and South. I have sadly neglected this blog since all The Hobbit hubbub started, so everything is pre-Hobbit. But I intend to get back at it! 😀 thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

