30 Day Richard Armitage Challenge Day 1

The First Role You Saw Him In

John Thornton – North and South Source: richardarmitagenet.com

As with most people. it seems, my introduction to Mr. Armitage was through BBC mini-series North and South.  I actually didn’t watch it until late spring/early summer 2012 (so I am a young pup in the RA fandom world).  Ironically, it had been in my instant queue on Netflix for quite some time (as well as almost every other British period drama ever made).

It wasn’t until I was jacking around on youtube one night that I came across THIS video.  And this is what finally lit a fire under my butt to watch North and South.   I ADORE this video.

I remember I started watching the first part around 7pm on a Sunday night.  Initially, all I could think about was Abraham Lincoln.  It was a combination of the hat, his height and his uber long legs.  And now thinking about it, he also reminded me of Ichabod Crane from The Legend of Sleepy Hollow (there was a version of it when I was a kid that starred Jeff Goldblum, but I digress).  By the time I got into the 4th episode, it was after 10pm, but there was not stopping to go to bed!  I had to see the end!  And boy, was I glad I stayed up to watch it.  The train scene definitely did not disappoint!  😉

The “Train Station Scene” from North and South Source: richardarmitagenet.com

This entry was posted in 30 Day Richard Armitage Challenge, Richard Armitage and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 30 Day Richard Armitage Challenge Day 1

  1. april73 says:

    It’s the same for me. 😉

    The first time I have seen Richard on screen was in January 2009 in the BBC drama “North and South”.

    I had never read Elizabeth Gaskell’s novel before that, but I have immediately liked the story and the great performance of the actors. English actors are so talented… 🙂 And when I saw Richard, I have said to myself “What a great actor… and what a beautiful voice”. And of course “He’s quite handsome”, lol.

    • triski says:

      I had never even HEARD of the book, but then I never took a Brit Lit class in college (and not sure if it would have been in the curriculum). And I agree that he is quite handsome. 🙂

  2. jasrangoon says:

    North & South was my first introduction to RA as well. It wasn’t in my Netflix queue, but sitting on my parents shelf of movies. If only I’d pulled it out and looked sooner…instead I kept brushing it off as being about the Civil War!

  3. ItsJSforMe says:

    I watched N&S on DVD for years before I discovered RA through Robin Hood on Netflix. Yay for Netlfix!!! 😉

    • triski says:

      It’s funny, but I vaguely remember Robin Hood ads on BBCAmerica here in the US, but didn’t watch it until after N&S and then it was on Netflix! I wish they had more of his work on netflix!

  4. Pingback: Legenda 49: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

  5. Beverly says:

    What a lovely video. I adore North and South, too, and the video makes me want to revisit it. Thanks.

  6. zan says:

    My intro was through Robin Hood. Which led to North and South … and, well, you know. LOL
    It’s a long, slippery slope once one “discovers” Mr. A! And what a joyride down it! 😉

Leave a Reply

